Pepper Steak, Not

Last week I introduced treasure chest Thursday and provided you the details and recipe of one of those meals that has stood the test of time in our meal rotation. I say meal rotation, but I have never been very good with that. There are too many recipes and things I want to try to stick with a rotation. However there are some foods that pop up more than others. The named offenders tend to fall into the categories of Mexican, Pizza, or whatever kick I get on. I think Little Miss Mixture said it best the other day “I could eat Mexican everyday.” Combine that with the household meal planner who could eat pizza or mexican everyday as well and you get the idea of what we eat most.  I have been on a kick this winter, yes you know the one that seemed to never end, I have been on a big grilled cheese kick.  Can you blame me rain, snow, and cold what else does a person crave but warm gooey comfort. If you read earlier post, you know I would have easily been satisfied with a chocolate chip cookie, but as much as I love them they do not constitute a meal. Now that it is April and we are officially in National Grilled Cheese Month you can expect a couple of creations to be posted soon.

Today’s treasure chest post comes from many years ago. I recently pulled this recipe out and decided to try it again and it was a success. I am calling this recipe Pepper Chicken. My version anyway. It is really a take off of a number of asian inspired recipes circling the internet called Pepper Steak. However this recipe was one we had when I was a kid. It was one of the recipes I remember my dad making before he became the primary cook in the house. It was a somewhat seasonal dish since it uses green onions and tomatoes, but feel free to enjoy anytime of year.

Why Pepper Chicken? Well I remember “red meat was bad” at some point during my upbringing. Not sure the exact year, but mom changed most of our meals to chicken and turkey based. Thus the turkey burger became popular to this small town girl. So many recipes can be made with substitutions as I am sure if you prefer tofu it would work well too. Personally that is one food I have never craved nor been a fan of except in Pad Thai. Something about the way the Thai restaurant can hid it in with the chicken and shrimp to provide a perfect balance of flavor. I mentioned this was asian inspired which may be why any protein can be used. Typical chinese menus always seems to let the customer pick their protein in their dish. Don;t get me wrong you will see some meat recipes come through on occasion. I do eat meat, though it is not something I cook often. Many of our meals are meatless and those that include a meat tend to have chicken, turkey, or fish.

As with all recipes, I will try to provide basic measurements, but really I only use a recipe as a guide. There are certain ingredients I measure though I am notorious for measuring and then adding a little more.  I used roughly what the recipe called for in onion, peppers, and tomatoes, but recipes like this are perfect for adding more or less to accommodate your family. Also when tomatoes and peppers, are ins season the more variety, the more flavor, the more color, the more antioxidants.

Pepper Chicken

1 lb. boneless chicken cut in ½ inch strips
1 Tbsp. Paprika
2 Tbsp. Butter
2 Cloves Garlic, crushed
2 Tbsp. Cornstarch
¼ c. Water
2-3 Tomatoes, cut into slices
1 ½ c. Beef Broth
1 c. Green Onions, sliced
2 Peppers, cut in strips
¼ c. Soy Sauce

Pound meat and then cut into strips. Sprinkle chicken with paprika and allow to stand while preparing the other ingredients.
Using a large skillet, cook the chicken in butter. Add garlic and broth and cover and simmer for 30 minutes. Stir in green onions and peppers. Cover and cook for an additional 5 minutes.
Blend together cornstarch, water, and soy sauce. Stir liquid into the meat mixture. Cook, stirring until broth becomes clear and thickens slightly, about 2 minutes. Add tomatoes, and stir gently until well combined.  Serve over rice

This recipe is great and always enjoyed though it is higher in sodium than most things I make since it includes several high sodium ingredients. Want to make it better check out how to make your own beef stock and use low sodium soy sauce.

I apologize for not having a picture of this colorful dish. I need to work on my photography skills with food. It is harder than you think.

Don’t forget today is National Chocolate Mousse Day. I tried to make an imitation chocolate mousse smoothie for Little Miss Mixture to start the day. Let’s just say I will not be posting the results.   Don’t worry though this sweet tooth will not go without some real Chocolate Mousse.  Recipe and picture to come later.

Leave a Reply

