Taxing Kitchen Tasks

April 15th is here the day so many people dread as it is not a day that carries positive connotations.  I feel bad for individuals who were born on April 15th. Sure it is a day no one forgets but not exactly because of that them.

Happy Birthday to my Sister in Law who is one of those not so lucky people.

As I begin my day I recently got some chicken breast and realized I did not use them so I decided yesterday I could make chicken salad.  I enjoy chicken salad, BUT here it is 16 hours later and I am finally starting the task.  Why you ask?  What is so hard about chicken salad?  It is not the salad it is the task of boiling chicken or poaching chicken.

I hate to boil chicken. Thus this is a taxing task that I try to avoid with all cost.  Confession of a dietitian, foodie, mom.  I find this task so painstaking that I cannot seem to commit it to memory.  I have to look up “how to boil chicken” each and every time I decide to make a dish requiring boiled chicken.  Yes we have chicken salad on occasion but I I would rather prepare the chicken any other way.

Poaching chicken is somewhat easier, but whenever I boil chicken I make a mess.  Additionally it never seems to take what the recommended time is, so I constantly check the chicken so as to not undercook or overcook. Then there is not not so appealling white filmy layer that presents itself and has to be taken off.  Lastly regardless of the water boiling over the pot which it inevitable does the pot is such a hassle to clean.

Once the chicken is cool.  All is good and if I have gone through this hassle it better be for something good.  There are a lot of chicken salad recipes.  As a southerner you would think Mayonnaise rules, but in fact it does not.  I actually prefer Miracle Whip (boo hiss I know not healthy) no need to worry I do not even purchase it anymore.  I do however find that I can mix real mayonnaise with some plain yogurt and produce a nice balanced flavor.

J‘s Simple Chicken Salad

1 Chicken Breast, Boiled (about 1 1/ 2 cups, cooked)

1/2 cup diced apple

1/4 cup diced celery

1/4 cup diced onion

1/4 cup plain yogurt

1/4 cup mayonnaise

Shred or chop chicken, per your desired consistency of the chicken salad.  Toss all ingredients into a bowl and mix.  Add a little more mayonnaise or yogurt if you prefer a wetter chicken salad.  

There are really very few things in the kitchen that I find more TAXING than boiling chicken.

What do you find taxing?  Leave a comment telling me and maybe you will find a simpler way to handle that task in a future post.

Leave a Reply

