Oh how we LOVE Truffles!

 

What is not to love?  Isn’t she cute?

In all seriousness we do love truffles, the little chocolate ones, at least myself and Little Miss Mixture.  In fact I have created a very bad habit at a young age as Little Miss Mixture has a taste for good chocolate.  I truly think if you are going to indulge it should be worth it and in my opinion there is a difference in chocolates.  There are a number of good chocolates to be found and I am a dark chocolate person, and luckily there are a variety of price points that can satisfy this craving.

I enjoy semi sweet chocolate chips and a handful can brighten the day or simply satisfy that sweet craving at times.  Other times a more decadent form of dark chocolate is necessary.

I enjoy baking though I often have to find people to give the sweets to or have a reason to bake because I cannot just have them sitting around.  I have a hard time wasting food, so rather than waste I allow my waist to be impacted.

Friday is National Truffles Day and this week is Teacher Appreciation week at Little Miss Mixtures school.  Who does not enjoy homemade baked goods?  I decided to make this easy recipe to send to some of the teachers, assistant teachers, and administration.  I know at least a couple of them have a sweet tooth like myself.

Chocolate Truffles

12 ounces semi sweet chocolate chips

3/4 cup whipping cream

1 tsp  extract of your choice (orange, raspberry, peppermint, rum)*

Cocoa for dusting

In a glass bowl melt chocolate (you may use double boiler method or microwave).  I use the microwave for this recipe. Melt on high for 1 minute and stir.  Continue to microwave at 30 second intervals until almost melted then stir until smooth.  Gradually add the whipping cream stirring in well.  Whipping cream does not need to be cold as it will mix better if allowed to sit out for a few minutes.  Once mixed add extract of choice and continue to stir to ensure evenly distributed flavor and chocolate is smooth.  Place in refrigerator to firm up for about 20 -30 minutes.

Line a cookie sheet or container with parchment or wax paper.  Scoop chocolate and roll into small balls approximately 1 inch in diameter.  At this point I place the truffles in the freezer for about 15-30 minutes to firm back up.  Roll in cocoa to dust and serve immediately, store in airtight container lined with parchment or wax paper, or package as gifts.   Yields about 2 -2 1/2 dozen.

* I have used orange and peppermint                                                              *recipe adapted from Taste of Home

IMG_2561
Ready for the teachers

 

Just one more because we do love her!Truf.JPG

Leave a Reply

