Rhubarb is not for Everyone

IMG_2708

Their are things that you try and just know you like it and then there are other things that you acquire a taste for.  Rhubarb may be that item in our home.

Rhubarb has a short season and I have never really done much with it.  In fact for the last few years I have seen it at a local market and been intrigued, but never purchased it until this year.  I was determined to give it a try as I am not even sure I have ever eaten it, or consciously done so.

I bought a small amount, three stalks and luckily the farmer whom I purchased it from had already trimmed it, so there was no room for error.  Thank goodness because the sheer thought that if I accidently served the leaves because we eat all different greens that I could poison my family is enough to scare a newcomer from trying it.

Most of the recipes for rhubarb involve sugar and making something sweet.  I love sweets, but I wanted to try something different, so I decided to try and roast rhubarb for a salad.

Roasted Rhubarb

1 Stalk Rhubarb, cut into 1/2″ slices

1/4 cup Maple Syrup

Toss Rhubarb in maple syrup and spread out on a baking sheet.  Roast in oven for 20 minutes at 375 degrees

IMG_2709

Allow rhubarb to cool and add to salad or eat as desired.

Well the rhubarb was musher than I expected, yet still had a bitter flavor.  I tossed it atop a salad of spinach, radish, and strawberries with a small amount of olive oil and a balsamic reduction.  The result, though eaten will not be served again.  It was edible but nothing that any of us particularly liked.

IMG_2716

Two more stalks to use and having googled and searched Pinterest as well as read several recipes from blogs I follow, I decided it was time to give rhubarb a try in what it is known best for.  Mixed with strawberries and maybe into a delicate spring dessert. Rather than a pie I found smitten Kitchen’s recent post for strawberry rhubarb crisp a good choice.  The bars came out good. They were simple enoug to make and the flavor was nice, but again nothing I would go searching for.  Mr. Mixture is not a fruit in his dessert person, but Little Miss Mixture pretty much enjoys anything with sugar.  She gave raving reviews to the bars as did so e others I shared them with.

Recipe for Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp can be found here.

IMG_2724IMG_2725

 

 

Attempt number three.  With just a small amount of rhubarb left, I decided to make a sauce that could be enjoyed in a yogurt parfait.  Well the sauce never happened.  I am not one to forget things, but Mr. Mixture arrived home early from a trip.  We were catching up on things that occurred over the week, it was raining and we needed to tend to some clogged gutters and OOPS what is that smell?  My rhubarb sauce was smoking and not in a good way.

Well we bought , we tried. We rated and now I know that rhubarb is not something this Mixture family will be yearning for or searching farmers markets for next spring.  However if it is a taste you enjoy, it is simple and versatile. I am glad we tried it.  The crisp bars really were good!

Leave a Reply

