Crack open some Goodness and have a Pistachio

From the name of this blog and some of the pictures of mixture, I think you get the sense I like nuts.  Of course I have to like nuts come visit my household and family.  They are a bunch of nuts.  I am okay with that because nuts are good.

Sure there are a lot of people out their with nut allergies and the numbers continue to rise.  I honestly do not know what I would do if I had to give up nuts or incorporating them into our healthy living.  We are fortunate and so for those who can enjoy nuts and all their benefits.  Enjoy!

Nutrient_Rich_FS_Image.regular

Pistachios are one of those nuts that ebbs and flows in our house.  We can go long periods of time without them and then I find myself eating nonstop.  These unique little green nuts are part of the cashew family. They are one of the lowest calorie and lowest fat nuts, but they are packed with nutrients such as Copper, Phosphorous, Manganese, Thiamin, and Vitamin B6.   A single serving of pistachios (1/4 cup, approximately 49 kernels) can provide 6 grams of Protein and 3 grams of Fiber, which is 10% of the recommended fiber for the average person to consume each day.

DSC_9734

Pistachios can be eaten by the handful, tossed into to a mixture, tossed on a salad, made into a pesto type sauce, used to crust chicken or fish, added to a cheese platter and a number of other ways.  One of my favorite flavor combinations is Dried Cherries and Pistachios tossed into Greek Yogurt.  A balanced quick and easy breakfast or snack.

As a child I always loved what was called Watergate salad (not sure where the name came from), but it was pistachios pudding mix, combined with cool whip, crushed pineapple and mini marshmallows.  Not exactly the healthiest salad, but the unique flavor of the pistachios was always a favorite of mine.  Though I have yet to recreate that dish without all the processed items or at least improve it, here are some pistachio pins that are on my to try list.

Pistachio like other nuts can be costly to purchase.  Buying in bulk is generally cheaper but then you want to ensure freshness.  I have found the best way to buy pistachios is in the shell.  STOP! Before you start moaning and complaining how you do not want the hassle of opening the nuts when you want to use them keep these tips in mind.

Pistachios in their shell will keep longer than those without.  Always place nuts in an airtight container. They will stay fresh in the refrigerator for about 3 months and in the freezer for 6-12 months.

Shell them in batches so they are ready when you want them.  This is a great activity that can be done by you or your kids.  Excellent fine motor skill practice for the little ones.  I find the perfect time to shell some is while I sit at the kitchen table during homework time or summer workbook time.  Keeps me busy and I am not surfing the internet or flipping throw a magazine that little eyes find exciting or distracting to their studies.  The only distraction is a healthy snack.  Another great time to shell pistachios is while watching brainless television.  You know the show that sucks you in but really if you only half pay attention you still follow the show.

.DSC_9732

DSC_9730

 

Be sure to check out all the great pins I have with recipes for Pistachios.

Pistachio Pesto

Pistachio Truffles

Pistachio Bark

While the recipes are great, I find the best way to enjoy pistachios is mixed with some dried cherries and greek yogurt, or tossed into a mixture.

* Pistachio Health Institute can be credited for the top picture and nutrition facts.

One response

  1. Pingback: Monday Mixture | Let's Have Mixture

Leave a Reply

