Monday Mixture: Celebrating the small things, Camp, What we are eating…

Another week has gone by and I cannot believe it is almost July.  I feel as if the past month has been a complete whirlwind.  I finally have a week to enjoy summer, pack picnic lunches and hang out by the pool.  I had intended for our weekend to consist mainly of that, but here it is the last weekend and June and though I am not necessarily complaining with the enjoyable temperatures for taking the dog on walks and grilling, the weather was not exactly picture perfect for a day by the pool.  We did manage to squeeze a few hours in and as the day went on the weather improved, so I am hopeful the forecast for the week improves as well.

1.  What we ate this week (June 21 – 28)

Saturday & Sunday – Traveling

Monday – Sandwiches, Popcorn, and Grapes @ Swim Meet TraderJoesPopcornHerbsSpicesBag

Tuesday – Hummus & Veggies, Macaroni & Cheese

Wednesday – Salad of Grilled Shrimp, Yellow Squash, Blackberries & Goat Cheese

Thursday – Sandwiches @ Swim Meet

Friday – Leftovers

Saturday – Grilled Potatoes & Onions, Grilled Okra, & Sausage

As I look at what we have eaten recently, I realize how few meals I have made.  It feels so nice to have reclaimed my house and put it back together.  I am looking forward to a week of freedom being able to get to anything and everything at anytime.  Many of our evening meals have been on the go or quick and easy, but being home has allowed for some nice lunches.  A couple of days Little Miss Mixture and I enjoyed salads for lunch since we knew we were having sandwiches for dinner.

2. Making Room for Real Food –  I know there is a balance between what we can make and what we need to buy.  I think that no matter what others say you need to be happy with the choices you feed your family and how it works into your life.  I think I limit some processed foods really well, but I have a couple weak points and some it is because I enjoy the food and just crave it occasionally.  Other foods items there is just simply no time to make everything from scratch.  I feel you have to balance time and money.  Additionally to me making room for real foods in our life is more about meals and the healthier choices of less processed items.  If an item is available without all the unnecessary added ingredients that todays manufacturers use, then I am happy purchasing the item rather than making from scratch.  On those same lines my sweet tooth is better satisfied with homemade items at times for that same reason.

I thought this was an interesting article of items that can be made.  I am impressed as I will occasionally make bread, though usually it is something other than sandwich bread as I like homemade bread to go with soup or salad meals.  However I do not see myself making some of these items, it is a nice resource for those that might.

3.  Breakfast – What do you eat for breakfast?  What do the kids eat?  With more time on our hands, Little Miss Mixture has been making her own breakfast more.  Another positive for the summer of responsibility.  Summer season makes it so easy to start the day in a colorful way.  Who wouldn’t be happy if their child brought them this picture of their breakfast?  Yes I may be creating a little food blogger.

Image

4.  Celebrating the small things – I like to celebrate and I am looking forward to Friday as the 4th of July has become a fun holiday in the last few years.  This past weekend was my half birthday.  I mentioned it before dinner and was surprised with a “make your own sundae” dessert.  Sweet tooth was satisfied and hearing Little Miss Mixture sing Happy Half Birthday reassured there is a reason to celebrate the little things, it made her happy to have a fun dessert and celebrate.  Wait until the family finds out July is National Ice Cream month… I see a lot of cones, shakes, and toppings in our future.Image 1

5.  Camp – So it seems this weekend was camp send off.  Every time I looked at Facebook, there were pictures of happy campers, parents and kids saying their goodbyes, and parents celebrating.  We have not yet ventured down the overnight camp thing.  In fact we are still working on getting sleepovers as Little Miss Mixture is happy to go to others house, but it seems a lot of her friends are not ready yet.    Wonder what that says about me if I sit and reflect?

Actually I am happy she is ready and makes me wonder if she would enjoy sleep away camp.  From the pictures it seems like all the campers enjoy themselves and they are excited for another summer away.  I unfortunately did not have the best experience when I was younger at overnight camp.  I really enjoyed it as a counselor though.  I am not sure what I disliked so much that I did not want to stay, but I do remember the food was a thing for me.  Bug juice was a staple and that did not fly at every meal with this little foodie.  As a counselor I am sure I ate more, but I still remember my staple item was peanut butter.  In fact that may be around the time I realized I loved Peanut butter and to this day rarely go 36 hours without consuming it in some form.

So, if I were to send Little Miss Mixture to camp, I think I would be just as concerned about the food as I would the activities and the accommodations.

Do you worry about what your kid eats at camp?  

Has camp food changed over the years?  

Is all that organic food and real food you feed during the year a waste when they go away and consume foods you would not dare allow them to eat?  

Or is it just what every kid needs?

I found some fun articles about camp, camp traditions new and old, preparing for camp, and what to expect from your child going to camp.  Check these out for some fun reads.

Camp Bus Departure

Packing for Camp 

Stores for Camp Supplies really a store that sells nothing but camp things.  Regardless of camp I think Little Miss Mixture would love this store.  Okay I would love this store.   That is it, I am going to camp next summer!

Leave a Reply

