Monday Mixture: Lots of Birthday Celebrations and Red, White & Blue

Happy Monday. I hope everyone had a nice long weekend filled with good food, friends, and some fireworks.  I am still trying to figure out where the month of June went because usually by this point in the summer I am growing tired of the pool routine.  Yet this year it has not yet even become a routine.  Does Little Miss Mixture feel the summer is flying by?  Or is this a grown up thing?  The older we get the faster time seems to fly.

1. What we are Eating (June 29 – July 5).

Sunday – Grilled Peaches & Chicken Salad

Monday – Swim Meet Banquet

Tuesday – Mixed Greens, Cherries & Goat Cheese Salad (Little Miss Mixtures creation of ingredients) topped with my Go TO Balsamic Vinaigrette and homemade croutons, made out of brioche rolls and butter.

Wednesday – Cold Plate with Pasta Salad, Veggies, Cheese & Salami

Thursday – Salad of Leftovers. It really is crazy what a great salad can be tossed together by trying to finish up vegetables and items in the refrigerator.

Friday – 4th of July Party with friends. We enjoyed Sugar Cookies Little Miss Mixture made to celebrate America’s Birthday.

These became :

IMG_3298

IMG_3320IMG_3321IMG_3319

Saturday – Grilled Sockeye Salmon, Black Bean & Corn Salad, Roasted Beets & watermelon

2. Recipe Must Make List – I have noticed in the last few weeks I have completely forgotten our must try list as far as making new meals.  I have not forgotten to add more recipes.  It is not that I am avoiding new recipes, but I find salads, and anything tossed on the grill just works better on summer nights.  I plan to start incorporating more of the recipes in the next few weeks.  In the meantime I am enjoying no recipe meals with lots of fresh ingredients.

3.  Breakfast – Here is another picture Little Miss Mixture took of a breakfast she made for herself this week.  It was an interesting combination – dry cereal, dried apricots, and fresh cherries.  She fixed it, ate it and enjoyed it, so I am not complaining.

Image 3As I mentioned last week, we like to celebrate, so Friday morning Little Miss Mixture was set on having a themed breakfast.  Here are our Red, White, & Blue Yogurt Parfaits.IMG_3315 IMG_3312

 

4. Celebrating the 4th – Thankfully Arthur did not have an impact on our holiday.  I guess that is one benefit of being a landlocked city.  We did get a nice summer Thunderstorm which delayed the firework display we went to see on Thursday evening.  But I found another great reason to own an SUV.  It may have been raining, but I sat in the comfort of the back of my car and watched a nice display of fireworks.  On 4th of July, we stayed in the comfort of our neighborhood to celebrate with friends and enjoy another great fireworks display.

5. Happy Birthday Truffles – The youngest and newest addition to our family has a birthday this week.  If her recent behavior of rising very early to play and running away every time I approach her continues, I am not sure I want a 1 year old dog.  Bring back that docile little puppy.

We celebrated by making her some Dog Friendly Cupcakes.  They were based upon this recipe with a couple variations.

DSC_0270

The pupcakes were a hit, as this picky eater did not leave a crumb.DSC_0274DSC_0276DSC_0289

 

Happy Monday and here is to another week of good food and fun!

 

 

Leave a Reply

