Blackberry, Yellow Squash & Goat Cheese Salad

IMG_3216We have had some great salad meals recently.  I love salads as a main meal and summer is the perfect time to take advantage of the fresh produce and fill your bowl.  It also is a great alternative for dinner since it requires minimal cooking and the less I use the stovetop or oven in the summer the happier I am.  Fire up the grill and toss the items on a bed of greens and I am a happy girl.

I have a couple of salad combinations that I have been putting together for years.  One of my favorites in the middle of July is Grilled Peaches and Chicken.  This is a perfect entree salad when the freestone peaches are ripe.  We had this recently, but my blogger brain was not on as I forgot to snap any pictures.  However, I do have the recipe on my site – Mixed Greens with Grilled Peaches & Chicken. 

As we we browsing the farmer’s market the other day, Little Miss Mixture and I decided to make a big salad for dinner.  As I mention in the Mixed Greens and Grilled Peaches recipe, the dressing is quite versatile.  I find it to be the base of my favorite type of balsamic.  I knew blackberries and goat cheese would blend well with a balsamic, so I began gathering items to create dinner.

The blackberries are fabulous right now.  I knew I had a salad recipe that blackberries were used, so I referred to that as the base of our meal once I got home.  While at the market, I had picked up some local yellow squash, corn.  As I was preparing my balsamic, I noticed I had a brioche roll that had not been used.  I quickly cut it into 1 inch cubes, tossed it with some melted butter in a cast iron skillet and then placed them in the oven for about 12 minutes.  Homemade croutons are a great way to use up rolls or breads.

 

IMG_3215

 

Blackberry, Grilled Squash & Goat Cheese Salad

Ingredients
Mixed Greens
1 Yellow Squash, sliced lengthwise
Mushrooms (Freshly Sliced)
Goat Cheese, crumbled
fresh blackberries
Croutons
avocado, diced
Shrimp, peeled, deveined

Directions
Preheat grill to 350 degrees. Marinate shrimp in olive oil and creole seasonings. Marinate squash in olive oil and some fresh ground pepper.
While squash and shrimp are on grill. Place mixed greens in all bowls. Top with sliced mushrooms, avocado, and goat cheese.
Wash and gently dry fresh blackberries
Top salad with shrimp, grilled squash and blackberries. Top with dressing and croutons and enjoy.
Dressing should be a Dijon balsamic for best flavor

 

2 responses

  1. Pingback: CHOPPED and so happy about it | Let's Have Mixture

  2. Pingback: Monday Mixture | Let's Have Mixture

Leave a Reply

