Low Country Kebabs

DSC_0532I seem to have a love hate relationship with kebabs.  I love the idea of making kebabs, I find them to be a fun twist on a meal, especially since you can customize them.  However each and every time I get them made and put on the grill I remember that I hate cooking kebabs.  I realize the idea has been around for years.  When pioneers and explorers cooked over a fire they used sticks to cook their food.  When you go camping these methods are still used.  In fact we own these extending sticks for making s’mores and such in our backyard fireplace, but there is a big difference in a light airy marshmallow and a stick full of meat and vegetables.

Obviously for even cooking one must rotate the sticks.  We see this same idea with rotisserie chicken and similar type items.  But the kebab sticks once they are loaded with items just never seem to rotate well for me.  Does anyone else have this problem?  I consider myself fairly skilled at the grill and can cook a variety of items over it, but the rotating of kebabs throws me each and every time as I never seem to be able to rotate them evenly.  And that is not the only challenge.  Once you have this beautifully grilled stick of meats and vegetables, you have to get them off when the metal is hot and hope the items land nicely on your plate. UGH!  It sounds so simple in theory.

The idea of these kebabs came from my always wanting to have a low country boil.  About 10 years ago, we were visiting friends at a nearby lake and they took us to a dive on the water to eat.  It was great. I had never had a low country boil.  The huge pot of seasoned food arrived at our picnic table.  It was dumped out and everyone started eating.  Of course most of the items are eaten with your hands, so there were rolls of paper towels on the table as well.  It was such a simple meal, yet everyone was sitting around licking their fingers and using paper towel after paper towel.  It was a blast.

I have replicated the idea once or twice with a larger group of friends and it is always well received.  On this particular occasion, it was just the three of us, so I scaled it down to this taking advantage of the lovely summer evening and cooking over the grill rather than a pot of hot water.

Low Country Kebabs

1 kielbasa or turkey sausage, cut into chunks

2-3 ears of corn, cut into 2-3 inch pieces

1/2 lb. shrimp

10 small potatoes, partially pre-boiled

Olive Oil

2 Tbsp. Low Country or Creole* seasoning

In a large ziploc bag mix about 1/4 cup olive oil and the seasoning mix.  Marinate the shrimp and corn for 20-30 minutes.  In the meantime pre boil the potatoes for about 3-5 minutes depending on their size.  Allow to cool and then build your kebabs.  Grill for 15-20 minutes, rotating every 5 minutes.  Remove from kebab sticks and enjoy.  You may serve alongside melted or clarified butter to enhance the flavor of the corn, potatoes, and shrimp.

DSC_0529DSC_0526DSC_0535

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

* I used Emeril’s creole seasoning that I had on hand.

Leave a Reply

